Register    Login    Search    FAQ     DONATE

Board index » Technical Forums » How Do I...?




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 916
Location: North Central Arkansas
I know that I can click on the Edit button in lower right corner of my post, and then type in my changes and/or additions. But then it never says the post has been edited. I thought I saw that statement on some edited posts.....where it said "Edited" and gave the date/time of the edit. Is this not true? Am I doing something wrong when I edit?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:23 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 4934
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
It has just been too long since I've set up this software from scratch for me to remember every setting that I do/did but it IS a setting type thing.

There are settings for how long a member has to edit or delete a post after first submitting. Right now both of these settings are set to forever. You could come back a year later and edit or delete one of your posts if I am not mistaken. I DO have to admit that being an administrator I see the site slightly differently than a normal member.

Now, if I remember correctly, if the settings gave a time limit as to how long you would have to edit or delete a post you would then see the "edited by..." message at the bottom of a post if an admin or moderator then went in and changed something.

It is also possible that there is a built in time limit for not showing the edited message. Come back to this thread in a couple of days and edit your initial post. We will then see which probability is likely to be correct.

<edit>

Just a test

Just another test...

_________________
Image
No matter how far you push the 'envelope' it is still stationary...
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
Jaylach Site Portal


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:37 am 
Offline
Fearless Leader
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:42 am
Posts: 2843
As far as I know, that edit thing doesn't show anymore. If I need to make it obvious that there is an edit, I jump down a line or two and type Edit: and whatever I wanted to say. ;)

_________________
Patty MacDuffie
Computer Haven Administrator

Live Long and Prosper
Mr. Spock


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 916
Location: North Central Arkansas
MacDuffie wrote:
As far as I know, that edit thing doesn't show anymore. If I need to make it obvious that there is an edit, I jump down a line or two and type Edit: and whatever I wanted to say. ;)

Thanks, Patty. That's what I've been doing also.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:37 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 4934
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Yep, I just went back and edited a post I made in early February and no auto edit insert. I also just manually put in an "<edit>" when I edit a post.

Strange as I don't remember turning it off but my not remembering is not a fact that I didn't do so. :mrgreen:

Patty, rather strange. The display of edit time and person was/is enabled but, for some reason, is not happening. Do you think it a matter to bother worrying about? After all it is really a troll defense and I don't seem to think we have any trolls here. :)

_________________
Image
No matter how far you push the 'envelope' it is still stationary...
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
Jaylach Site Portal


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:51 am 
Offline
Fearless Leader
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:42 am
Posts: 2843
Honestly, Jay, I haven't missed it. ;)

_________________
Patty MacDuffie
Computer Haven Administrator

Live Long and Prosper
Mr. Spock


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 916
Location: North Central Arkansas
And I can do without it, as long as I know it didn't disappear because I was doing something wrong.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:26 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 4934
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Funny thing is that it does show in PMs.

_________________
Image
No matter how far you push the 'envelope' it is still stationary...
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
Jaylach Site Portal


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » How Do I...?


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron