Register    Login    Search    Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate    Jaylach Free Sites

Board index » Technical Forums » Hardware

Post subject: PSU fan?
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:09 pm 
welcoming committee

I've just bought and fitted a new Power Supply Unit to my PC after the old one developed some sort of power cord connection problem, i.e. every time I moved my tower the PSU would cut power to the PC, it'd take several attempts at unplugging/plugging in the power cord to get the PSU to work again. I'm assuming the problem was with the socket for the cable on the back of the PSU because there was more "flexing" on the casing than in another other PSU unit I've ever owned before when inserting the power cable.

So before the old PSU could do any permanent damage I've replaced it with an Aerocool Integrator Mod XT 750W PSU.

I've never used an Aerocool PSU before but the price was right and it has all the connectivity I require, however I am somewhat alarmed that when I power up my PC the fan within the PSU is not turning and for the life of me I can't find any information online about this PSU to re-assure me that this behaviour is normal, or if I should return the unit as faulty...

The only information I've been able to find is the marketing blurb that states the PSU has something called "Smart speed control":
Quote:
Smart speed control 12cm fan - 12cm silent cooling fan with smart thermal fan speed control circuit

The official Aerocool website appears to be the following but I'm not entirely sure as my PSU isn't listed on either it's product page or the discontinued page link (found at very bottom of the page): http://www.aerocool.com.tw/en/

I've emailed their Tech Support for clarification if it's normal for the PSU fan to stop turning when it's not under load/strain but I've no idea how long it'll take to get a reply, nor indeed if I'm emailing the right people which is why I thought I'd ask the question here...