Register    Login    Search    FAQ     DONATE

Board index » Technical Forums » Internet Browsers And Email




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 9:57 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
As outlined in another thread I have an issue playing some VERY old games on one monitor while streaming video on another monitor via Internet Explorer. This has been solved for everything except for Netflix by using Firefox for streaming. Netflix will not play a video in Firefox.

The latest version of Silverlight is installed on my system but Firefox does not show it in Options. Add-ons-Plugins. Is this likely the cause? If so, how do I correct? Sorry but I've never been a Firefox user but am trying to set it up for my streaming.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:14 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
Jay, I'm not sure what the workaround is, it will likely be blindingly obvious given how popular Netflix and Firefox are... that said, the reason Silverlight isn't listed in your Firefox Add-ons is because beginning with Firefox Build 52 support for Silverlight (and more) was dropped by Firefox.

c.f. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/npapi-plugins


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:25 pm
Posts: 1312
Location: Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
Sorry I can't help you Jay I don't use Netflix or play games, well only a couple on Facebook, not the type you play.

_________________
Joan Archer
http://crossstitcher.webs.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:35 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
HTML5 i suspect is the answer:

Netflix system requirements for HTML5 Player and Silverlight:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/23742

As an aside, check if your Firefox DRM setting is enabled, if it isn't Netflix content won't play...

Quote:
Watch DRM content on Firefox

Digital Rights Management (DRM) is technology that enables online video and audio services to enforce that the content they provide is used in accordance with their requirements. This technology may restrict some of the things you can do in the browser. While some DRM-controlled content can be viewed using the Adobe Flash or Microsoft Silverlight plugin, many services are moving towards HTML5 video that requires a different DRM mechanism called a Content Decryption Module (CDM).

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/en ... =inproduct


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:46 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I've tried checking the DRM settings but Mozilla support gives a path of menu->options->content and content does not exist.

Hmmm, I just looked again and found DRM under a different options group. It was and is enabled.

The error code I get is "Error Code: F7701-1003".

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:51 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
Netflix Error F7701-1003:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/32661

Hope that helps, lots to run through ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:17 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Thanks for the link but been there.

Actually the most common cure I've seen is to run the 32 bit version of Firefox which I will be trying if I can find. The straight download is 64 bit.

<edit> 32 bit didn't work. I wonder if Firefox is defaulting to private sessions. I looked and it didn't seem so but I'm not a FF user so don't know it well.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:26 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
LOL! How the heck do you know for certain if FF is running in private sessions? This seems to be another possibility as to my Netflix issue.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:57 am 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
Hope this helps, six months old on the Mozilla Support page so should be current... certainly looks it to me as all options are where they say they are ;)

How do I know if I am in Private Mode:
https://support.mozilla.org/no/questions/1180418


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:56 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
You got it Doddie! Thanks. :) FF was set to always use private browsing. Private browsing breaks Netflix.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 4:19 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
Eureka! It is somewhat odd that Firefox doesn't display some form of notification when 'always use' is enabled... that said, happy 'flixing' and dual/multi monitoring ;)

As an aside, YouTube videos no longer work for me in IE11... they start but always exit to an error message part way through... I've searched but never worked out why this happens, resetting IE doesn't help because the issue immediately resurfaces after any required updates are installed... my days of having of IE as my primary browser are numbered, in fact, every time i run into an issue with IE11 that doesn't effect Firefox, i question why i still use IE.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1165
Location: North Central Arkansas
Doddie wrote:
As an aside, YouTube videos no longer work for me in IE11... they start but always exit to an error message part way through... I've searched but never worked out why this happens, resetting IE doesn't help because the issue immediately resurfaces after any required updates are installed... my days of having of IE as my primary browser are numbered, in fact, every time i run into an issue with IE11 that doesn't effect Firefox, i question why i still use IE.

Doddie, Since I have never experienced this problem using IE11 on my Win 10 computer, I can't say for sure what a solution might be. But I Googled the issue and found this website, which hopefully will be of some help:
https://itube.aimersoft.com/download-yo ... lorer.html


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:22 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Also, sometimes, switching IE from GPU rendering to software rendering can help in Advanced Internet Options.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:49 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
bbarry wrote:
Doddie, Since I have never experienced this problem using IE11 on my Win 10 computer, I can't say for sure what a solution might be. But I Googled the issue and found this website, which hopefully will be of some help:
https://itube.aimersoft.com/download-yo ... lorer.html

Thanks, some of the steps i didn't think would help because in my case the videos do at least start running, they just never complete, anyways i ran through all the steps but the issue persists :(

Intriguingly, at the end of 'Problem 1:' is an option to re-register "flash.ocx", i ran the command but the file was not found so i opened the folder and indeed it wasn't there.

I thought uninstalling Flash might help so followed the instructions to uninstall Flash Player on the Adobe website:
https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb ... ndows.html

The uninstall process has changed somewhat since i last fully uninstalled Flash Player but it did confirm at the end that Flash was removed.

I re-installed Flash Player from the Adobe website but still "flash.ocx" was not found in the folder mentioned in your earlier link which seems odd, even odder is if that file wasn't present somewhere I'd have thought Flash Player wouldn't work at all... it does work, it start playing videos it just crashes out to a random error screen at random times, never fully completing a video.

As an aside there is an interesting comment (there is only one) left by another at the bottom of the article, i don't know if that is relevant or fake news but it could be the cause if true?

jaylach wrote:
Also, sometimes, switching IE from GPU rendering to software rendering can help in Advanced Internet Options.

Tried flipping the setting, same result :(

Fyi, this isn't really a big issue for me because i know what'll happen when i click on a YouTube link so if I'm in IE i copy the link, open FF, and past the link there.

I used to have, years ago, a context menu item set up in IE (not sure if it was IE11 or pre IE11?) that enabled an option to "Open link in Firefox" with a right click of the mouse while in IE, i really should look into how i did that (i lost the option when i re-installed last year)... or of course, i could just drop IE altogether ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1165
Location: North Central Arkansas
Doddie, I cranked up my older desktop running Win 7 Pro (in dual-boot mode with Win 10 Pro) to see if I could duplicate the problems you are having with YouTube videos not working in IE11. For what it's worth, here's what I found:

(1) I seem to be able to view YouTube videos using IE11. So maybe if you send me a couple of the YouTube videos that you are having trouble with, I'll see what happens on my Win 7 computer. You can either post them here or send via PM.

(2) When I went searching for flash.ocx per Problem 1 above, neither did I find this exact file. But in that same path, I did find the file flash64_29_0_0_113.ocx. Do you see this in your macromed/flash folder?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1165
Location: North Central Arkansas
Doddie wrote:
I used to have, years ago, a context menu item set up in IE (not sure if it was IE11 or pre IE11?) that enabled an option to "Open link in Firefox" with a right click of the mouse while in IE, i really should look into how i did that (i lost the option when i re-installed last year)... or of course, i could just drop IE altogether ;)

This may be close to what you are looking for:
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/ie-ex ... t-browser/


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:14 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
bbarry wrote:
Doddie, I cranked up my older desktop running Win 7 Pro (in dual-boot mode with Win 10 Pro) to see if I could duplicate the problems you are having with YouTube videos not working in IE11. For what it's worth, here's what I found:

(1) I seem to be able to view YouTube videos using IE11. So maybe if you send me a couple of the YouTube videos that you are having trouble with, I'll see what happens on my Win 7 computer. You can either post them here or send via PM.

(2) When I went searching for flash.ocx per Problem 1 above, neither did I find this exact file. But in that same path, I did find the file flash64_29_0_0_113.ocx. Do you see this in your macromed/flash folder?


Thanks bbarry, i appreciate the effort to try and nail this and apologies for the delay in replying... night shifts :(

Anyways, to answer your questions:

1. It is any and all YouTube videos, what is odd is that they always start playing but if left alone (i.e. no jumping back or forward, simply left alone to play in entirety they will eventually crash out to an error).
----------------------------------------------------
As a test I've played a couple of files at random but note the times they crash can and usually does vary...

Example A:
AC/DC - Thunderstruck (Official Video)
https://youtu.be/v2AC41dglnM

A 4 minute 52 second video that crashed at 4 minutes 17 seconds.

Example B:
HMS Vanguard run aground on way to breakers 1960
https://youtu.be/cq-ahulpV4k

A 40 second video that crashed at 26 seconds.

I took screenshots of both videos which I'll attach to this post with the playback id error codes but they might as well be chocolate fireguards! :roll:
------------------------------------------------------

2. I had and have "Flash64_29_0_0_140.ocx", hopefully you've updated by now ;)


Attachments:
acdc.JPG
acdc.JPG [ 165.14 KiB | Viewed 150 times ]
HMS Vanguard.JPG
HMS Vanguard.JPG [ 161.03 KiB | Viewed 150 times ]
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:58 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
bbarry wrote:
Doddie wrote:
I used to have, years ago, a context menu item set up in IE (not sure if it was IE11 or pre IE11?) that enabled an option to "Open link in Firefox" with a right click of the mouse while in IE, i really should look into how i did that (i lost the option when i re-installed last year)... or of course, i could just drop IE altogether ;)

This may be close to what you are looking for:
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/ie-ex ... t-browser/

I looked at that and it's very close to what i used to have however it differs in that it sets up opening an entire page in another browser, the option of right clicking on a link within IE and opening that link in Firefox doesn't exit.

That said, the "See also" link by Ramesh at the end of his article is promising:
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/open- ... lick-menu/

As an aside i found my 'backed up' folder that was required to make the script i previously used work... annoyingly it's of no use without the .reg file to make it do it's magic and i can't find that! :roll:

In the hope it jogs any memories, a file labelled "ViewInFirefox.htm" was within a folder labelled "Utilities" and the contents of the "ViewInFirefox.htm" when opened in Notepad is...
Quote:
<XXXXXX>
var shell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
shell.run("firefox \"" + external.menuArguments.event.srcElement + "\"");
</XXXXXX>


I've obfuscated the content within the <...> idents because the Forum software nearly had a fit, hopefully it won't cause any issues now... if you don't know what should be there, probably best not to ask ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1165
Location: North Central Arkansas
Doddie wrote:
Thanks bbarry, i appreciate the effort to try and nail this and apologies for the delay in replying... night shifts :(

Anyways, to answer your questions:

1. It is any and all YouTube videos, what is odd is that they always start playing but if left alone (i.e. no jumping back or forward, simply left alone to play in entirety they will eventually crash out to an error).
----------------------------------------------------
As a test I've played a couple of files at random but note the times they crash can and usually does vary...

Example A:
AC/DC - Thunderstruck (Official Video)
https://youtu.be/v2AC41dglnM

A 4 minute 52 second video that crashed at 4 minutes 17 seconds
Doddie, this played the full 4 min 52 sec on my Win 7 desktop.

Example B:[/u][/b]
HMS Vanguard run aground on way to breakers 1960
https://youtu.be/cq-ahulpV4k

A 40 second video that crashed at 26 seconds.
And this played the full 40 sec.

So I don't guess I was much help, as neither video crashed on my Win 7 desktop. Sorry.


2. I had and have "Flash64_29_0_0_140.ocx", hopefully you've updated by now ;)
Yes, mine has been updated.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:57 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1165
Location: North Central Arkansas
@@ Doddie - You are correct about the "See also" link looking promising.....I guess I missed that in the Ramesh article.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:05 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5466
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I also could not duplicate the crashes, videos played fine.

BTW, Doddie, The forum software probably 'threw a fit' on the <XXXXXX> contents as it saw it as a scripting language, such as JavaScript, or HTML. For obvious security reasons the forums will not allow such code to be embedded in a post. In SOME cases using the 'Code' command in the full editor will allow the code to be displayed. I suspect that the original content of the <XXXXXX> and </XXXXXX> was the word 'Script'.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:26 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
Re YouTube videos, it is only IE11 that seems to have issues, Firefox plays any and all YT videos without issue... i dare say why this is happening I'll figure out one day, until then i just avoid IE11 when i want to view anything on YT.

@Jay, yes, it was 'Script'.
I thought about using the Code command but thought a bit more and decided not to go there just in case someone somewhere accidently ran the script... which i guess is the whole point of the Forum software blocking suchlike in the first place ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Netflix and Firefox
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:43 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 668
FYI and to close my YouTube issue, I've finally nailed what was causing my issues running YouTube videos in IE11...

Turns out it is the ad blocker i use, AdGuard, in return for running their Beta builds i get free use of it.

For the most part I've never had any issues with the Beta builds other than some small quirks that never got in the way of things which explains why i didn't suspect it as a potential cause sooner.

Anyways, (short version) i just tried exiting AdGuard and tried multiple videos on YouTube and they all played without issue, re-enable AdGuard and the issue resurfaces.

<Heads off to the AdGuard Beta Forum to report this bug.>

Apologies if i caused anyone to waste their time looking for a resolution, if it helps, i was convinced i had an IE cache corruption issue that i spent hours trying to work out how and where ;)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Internet Browsers And Email


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron