Register    Login    Search    Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate    Jaylach Free Sites

Board index » Technical Forums » Mobile Devices

Post subject: Laptop (Dell) hard drive
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:18 pm 
welcoming committee

Hi Again, I keep thinking of more questions :(. My dell laptop is on it's last 38% of battery life and the power cable died. Not sure how but when I plug it in, the screen of my laptop doesn't brighten up like it used to. If I need to start that old machine up again because I forgot to keep a copy of something, it won't be long before it won't restart. I looked around online for a universal power cable (w/multiple DC connectors) and there is one on Ebay for $20. My local computer repair shop wants $50. But I was just wondering, is it possible to remove the hdd from the old dell laptop and connect it to this Win 8 machine somehow? I have little experience opening a laptop and disconnecting a hdd from inside but if it's not too cumbersome, I'm willing to try.

I used to connect desktop hdd's to an existing computer so that's why I was wondering if I could with this laptop.

Thanks very much for your help always!! katy

- Barbara Corcoran

Post Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:07 pm 
Resident Geekazoid Administrator

Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
First let's discuss the laptop power supply... I would go with the $50.00 at the local shop. I may be off base but I don't trust E-Bay on hardware except as a last ditch desperation situation.