Register    Login    Search    FAQ     DONATE

Board index » Advanced Topics » System Recovery




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 867
Location: North Central Arkansas
I know how to mount a Macrium image using Windows Explorer, including how to select a drive letter for the temporary image. But when I'm finished, I can't see how to unmount the temporary image/drive. The manual says I can select the option 'Unmount Macrium Image' from the Windows context menu. But I don't have this option in my Win 10 context menu.

I think all temporary mounted images are detached when I restart my computer, but I'm not always ready to restart my computer when I want to detach the temporary image. So isn't there another way to detach?

Thanks in advance.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:01 pm 
Online
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 4530
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I really don't know but may have a 'hunch'. Right click on the icon for the mounted image in file explorer and see if you have an option to 'eject'.

_________________
Image
No matter how far you push the 'envelope' it is still stationary...
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
Jaylach Site Portal


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:13 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:45 am
Posts: 795
Peter is the Macrium expert. I will send him a PM at Wilders, where he is a lot of the time being a moderator, and ask him to come here.
Acadia

_________________
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 887
Acadia wrote:
Peter is the Macrium expert. I will send him a PM at Wilders, where he is a lot of the time being a moderator, and ask him to come here.
Acadia


Hi BB

assuming the image is mounted right click on the mounted drive. There should be a Macrium option there. Hover over that and you should see an unmount option.

I just tried it on a Win 10 machine and it works fine. ALso you can open Macrium's GUI, and on the left panel of options you should see the dismount. If you don't try selecting the restore tab. It should be there.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 867
Location: North Central Arkansas
Pete, there is no unmount option that I can see when I hover. Neither did I see a dismount option when I opened the Macrium GUI. But I did see a restore tab, so I will try that (even though that doesn't seem logical to me).

Thanks to all for responding. I DO like Macrium.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 887
ROFL. Never said it was logical. On the explorer thing select Macrium and then see if there is an unmount option. Remember I never said it was logical. That aspect as been well noted.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:54 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:45 am
Posts: 795
First: Peter, thanks for chiming in.

Second: Who ever said that computers, built on pure logic and math, would be logical. After all, consider their creators, we humans. :whistle1:

Acadia

_________________
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 867
Location: North Central Arkansas
Peter2150 wrote:
ROFL. Never said it was logical. On the explorer thing select Macrium and then see if there is an unmount option. Remember I never said it was logical. That aspect as been well noted.

Pete, I tried your suggestion of opening the Macrium GUI and then clicking on the Restore tab. And there it was.....an option to Detach a backup image from Windows Explorer. I selected this option and was then able to detach my temporary image. But in the Explorer context menu, there is no Macrium option (although there is an Acronis option).

So in Macrium you must Restore in order to Detach. Just like in Windows where you must Start in order to Close, lol.

Thanks for your help.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 887
Like I said nobody said logical. But works.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Advanced Topics » System Recovery


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: