Register    Login    Search    FAQ     DONATE

Board index » Technical Forums » General Computing




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:05 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:16 am
Posts: 175
Location: Lambertville, NJ
Laptop with a 1TB HHD to be replaced with a 500GB SSD.
Problem is the HHD is partitioned in half.
On the C partition is the OS plus programs, etc...98GB used.
On the G partition is storage...395GB used.
The new SSB (on a USB3 port) is seeing the whole HHD with 395GB plus the 98GB which is too much.
I can move most of G partition to external storage and the rest I can delete.
So, if I wind up with G partition being empty and do the cloning thing will I wind
up with a partitioned 500 GB SSD?
If, I should unpartition the HHD before cloning, I'd need some guidance there.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:55 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johnstown, NY
Do you just want the C: on the new drive? If so you should be able to just clone that partition to the new drive and not do a full disk clone.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 5:11 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5360
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
What software are you using in the clone attempt?

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:29 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:16 am
Posts: 175
Location: Lambertville, NJ
jaylach wrote:
What software are you using in the clone attempt?


I'm using Macrium Reflect.
I tried it again and chose to copy(C:) NTFS Primary and it appears I may be right this time.
At first I chose all the others except the G drive and that didn't work.
Now when I chose C only there is no message stopping it and it says to proceed to the next step.
All my experience with replacing HHDs in the past with Mac Refl and Acronis wasn't with cloning. I just used a save image.

Uploaded a jpg of MacRefl page but didn't work.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:12 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johnstown, NY
You will most likely need the hidden system reserved partition and recovery partition if you have them both on there.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cloning problem
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 9:22 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:16 am
Posts: 175
Location: Lambertville, NJ
Success in cloning the C drive.
The drives have been swapped and
the laptop is working fine.
Thanks to everyone for you help.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » General Computing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: