Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & more     Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Programs (Applications)




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:51 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Has anyone else had an issue with the Windows 10 built in weather app since the April 2018 build upgrade?

If I try to open the app the window opens for a few seconds but does not populate and closes. I have tried removing and installing again with no luck. There is also supposed to be a cure where you find the config file and re-name. Following the stated path to this config file it is not there even with enabling the viewing of hidden and protected files/folders.

Of course there are other options for weather but I happen to like the Win 10 built in app.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:10 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 461
Location: Johnstown, NY
There is a reset for it that seems to work for other apps I have used it on. In the Apps control panel, find the weather one and click it. Yse the advanced options menu and scroll down to reset.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:43 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I've done a few resets without change. Sorry that I forgot to add that in my first post.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 11:26 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 461
Location: Johnstown, NY
Open up the Microsoft Store app, press the three dots and select downloads and updates. See if there are any updates for your apps.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 12:19 am 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
No difference.

<edit>
Just checked on my laptop and the weather app does not even open a window. Since the app worked before the April 2018 build upgrade. I have to imagine a relationship as my third system has the app working but has not yet been upgraded to the new build.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 7:46 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 461
Location: Johnstown, NY
Couple of things to try:

App Troubleshooter: https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/hel ... r-for-apps

Using PowerShell to reinstall apps: https://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/how-to-r ... indows-10/


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 12:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:25 pm
Posts: 1362
Location: Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
Just tried mine Jay and it works with no problems. I'm assuming you mean the one that sits in the Start panel with other apps. after you click the start button.

_________________
Joan Archer
http://crossstitcher.webs.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 4:59 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I've used the troubleshooter but it just wants to rebuild the store cache. It does not help the issue.

I'll try the Power Shell aspect.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:50 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Power Shell method was no help although it did cause the app to not even open a window until after I did a restart.

I have also discovered that it is not just Weather. Mail (I don't use), News, and Maps are also affected. The odd thing is that the apps are actually working, I just can't open in a window nor can I effectively change location on such as Weather. If I open 'Start' both Weather and News are there working but, for instance, I can't get Weather to locate anywhere other than Washington DC.

The only app I actually miss is Weather. I DO still have system images from before the April 2018 build upgrade but don't really want to apply an image. Would not really affect much if I did do an image restore as even my Outlook PST file is on another drive. I just don't want to go through the time and effort of restoring an image then doing the upgrade again when I have no reason to believe that the issue would not come back.

Hmmm, One of my searches on this suggested making sure that the video drivers were up-to-date which mine are. However, I DID do a video driver update around the same time as the April 2018 build upgrade. I will try two things in this direction.
1) Roll back my video drivers.

2) Turn off hardware acceleration in IE and Edge (if available in Edge). Many apps in the past have used IE as a base canvas and I don't see why that would change.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:20 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
<Important info on this issue!>

It would seem that the actual apps are fine. I enabled the built in Windows Admin account with WinAero Tweaker and logged in under that account. All apps work just fine.

It would seem that my issue has to do with my main user account. I guess that I'll create a new user account to see what happens...

Oh, disabling hardware acceleration had no effect.

<Edit>
Under a newly created user account all apps work fine. I would say it is likely that my main user account has a corruption.

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 7:03 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 461
Location: Johnstown, NY
I would redo the video driver installation, I always do a fresh video driver install after one of my insider updates. You never know what the system is going to install during a major update.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 7:14 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 5662
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
No option to roll back drivers and shows drivers as current. I still intend to download the package from AMD/Sapphire and re-install clean. I will follow up on that...


<Edit>
A clean install of everything video did nothing.

I'm kind of thinking about doing a bit of an experiment by mounting a pre April 2018 image and copying over the user files... Things to try first... ;)

_________________
Image
Jaylach Site Portal
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.
ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 10:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1492
Location: New Jersey
Have you monkeyed with permissions on your User account? If you change the permissions on the application folders used by the MS Store apps, you end up with what you are experiencing. I had the problem a few years ago when I shared my User account folder -- it blew away the permissions needed by the apps... To fix it, you can create a new User account.... :-(

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Programs (Applications)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron